School-facilitated
Also called school facilitated · school-facilitated job source · career-center sourced
Edition VII lists six school rows that roll into one total:
School-facilitated is CSEA Table 3.A’s label for a full-time job whose primary source ran through the school. Career-center interviews, the job board, alumni intros, club treks, and internships obtained via school channels all sit here. The percent is of acceptances, not of the class.
What sits in the school column?
Edition VII lists six school rows that roll into one total:
- Conversion of an internship obtained through school sources
- Scheduled interviews on or off campus
- Job postings on school career systems, resume books, career-center referrals
- Career-center activities (fairs, employer events, info meetings, school-promoted boards)
- School network and resources (faculty, alumni, classmates, speakers, treks, clubs, class projects)
- Other school-facilitated
School-facilitated + graduate-facilitated + not reported must equal 100% of graduates who accepted by three months. Note E.1 tells offices not to publish recruiter headcount as a quality metric. Recruiter volume is not how people found the job they took.
Tepper 2025: 73% school-facilitated, and 43 of 111 acceptances (38.7%) were internship conversions from school sources. Haas 2025: 67.3% school-facilitated, 41.2% from converting a school-sourced internship. Stanford GSB 2025: 54% school-facilitated. The internship-conversion line, not the interview line, is doing most of the work at two-year programs.
How to read a 70% school-facilitated figure
| Read | Do not read |
|---|---|
| Share of accepted jobs the school touched | Share of the class the career office “placed” |
| Internship engine vs. on-campus interviews | Rank of the office against a school with a one-year calendar |
| Alumni network vs. job board | Number of employers who visited |
A one-year MBA with no summer will print a lower conversion row and should. Comparing Tepper’s 39% conversion to a 10-month European program’s 4% is a calendar mismatch.
The primary source is one bucket per acceptance. A job that started as a club trek and closed on LinkedIn still needs a single label. Schools write the rule down and keep it.
Common errors
Treating school-facilitated as “on-campus recruiting only.” Counting every internship conversion as school-facilitated when the intern found the summer role alone. Publishing recruiter counts. Using the class, not acceptors, as the percent base. Folding “not reported” into school-facilitated to hit 70%.
FAQ
Does an alumni coffee count as school-facilitated?
Yes if the graduate names the alumni network or a school intro as the primary source. A family friend who happens to be an alum and was not reached through the school is graduate-facilitated (personal contacts). The graduate’s story, documented, decides.
Why is this table required?
CSEA wants a measure of career-office and school-network contribution that is not “number of employers on campus.” Table 3.A is that measure. A high school-facilitated share is one picture of a two-year recruiting machine. It is not a ranking input CSEA computes.
What if the graduate does not answer the source question?
Use the “Job source not reported” row. Do not guess LinkedIn versus the job board. The three parent totals still have to add to acceptances.
Do part-time reports require this?
Part-time Standards II made the source table optional and retitled it for new/accepted positions, excluding people who never changed jobs. Do not compare a full-time 70% school-facilitated number to a part-time “source of new job” table.
Related terms
Sources
- CSEA Standards for Reporting Full-time MBA Employment Statistics, Edition VII Table 3.A school-facilitated rows; internships coded by how they were obtained; do not publish recruiter counts
- CMU Tepper 2025 Full-Time MBA Employment Data 73% school-facilitated; 38.7% from converting a school-sourced internship